Board of Directors

Incorporated in 1987, The Center for Health Policy Development (CHPD) Board is responsible for the legal and fiduciary management and oversight of the organization which includes the non-profit National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP). NASHP is an independent academy of state health policymakers working together to identify emerging issues, develop policy solutions, and improve state health policy and practice. NASHP is led by and for state health policy officials including leaders from both the Executive and Legislative branches of state government.

Center for Health Policy Development – 2018 Board of Directors

Susan Reinhard, RN, PhD 1
Senior Vice President
AARP Public Policy Institute
Washington, DC

Immediate Past Chair
Margarita Alegría, PhD 1*
Disparities Research Unit
Department of Medicine
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Vice Chair
John Morrison, Esq 1* 
Senior Partner
Morrison, Sherwood, Wilson, Deola PLLP
Helena, MT

Janette Burke, CPA1, 3
Cordia Partners
Vienna, VA

Nicolette (Nikki) Highsmith Vernick1, 2
President and Chief Executive Officer
The Horizon Foundation
Columbia, MD

Anne Barry, JD, MPH
Senior Faculty, School of Public Health
University of Minnesota

Mary Kennedy 3*
Retired – Association for Community Affiliated Plans
Saint Paul, MN

Carolyn Magill, MBA2,3
Aetion, Inc.
New York, NY.

Marci Nielsen, PhD, MPH2
PolicyPRN Consulting
Lawrence, KS

Ex Officio
MaryAnne Lindeblad, BSN, MPA (Chair)
Medicaid Director
Washington State Health Care Authority
Olympia, WA

Patricia (Trish) Riley
Center for Health Policy Development
Executive Director
National Academy for State Health Policy
Portland, ME  

Staff Liaison
Ellen Jean Schneiter
Chief Operating Officer
Chief Financial Officer
Center for Health Policy Development
National Academy for State Health Policy

Committee Appointments 
1 Executive Committee
Audit Committee
3 Finance and Investment Committee
* denotes Committee Chair